Wyoming

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Wyoming is an open records state.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

Wyoming Attorney General’s Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI)
Phone: 307-777-7181
 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Name-Based State Checks

Available from: The Wyoming Attorney General’s Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI), the state repository, does not conduct name-based background checks. Criminal history records are searched by fingerprint records only. See the section below on Fingerprint-Based State Checks for more information. 


Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Division of Criminal Investigation

What is released: A letter either indicating “no record” or previous record with attached arrest information. 

Cost: Volunteers can receive the check at a reduced cost of $10.00 plus a $5.00 fingerprinting fee. Volunteer pricing is available for volunteers of agencies working with youth or victims of family violence. For all other individuals, the cost is $15.00 plus a $5.00 fingerprinting fee. 

How long does it take to obtain results? Requests are generally completed within two weeks, but can take as long as 5-6 weeks. 

Available to: Programs may submit requests on individuals as long as they obtain and include the individual’s consent. Programs should also submit fingerprint cards and fees along with the request. See the information in the “Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records” section below for the steps organizations should follow. 

Additional notes: Wyoming state fingerprint cards must be used. No outside fingerprint cards are accepted. 
DCI takes appointments for fingerprinting services at 307-777-7181.

Personal checks and cash are not accepted as payment; please pay by money order or certified check. 


Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
A fingerprint-based check by the Montana Department of Justice (https://dojmt.gov/enforcement/background-checks/) or the Oregon Department of Human Services (http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/BUSINESS-SERVICES/CHC/Pages/index.aspx). 
A fingerprint-based check by the Washington State Patrol (http://www.wsp.wa.gov/crime/criminal-history/) will indicate only if there is a record of the individual in the Wyoming repository. If you receive this notification, you must conduct a full Wyoming state check using the designated repository (Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation; http://wyomingdci.wyo.gov/home).
 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: Yes
 
Available to: Organizations that qualify under state statute. See more information here; look for FAQ #14. Also reference the Wyoming Criminal History Record Act through this link. (Look for sections 7-19-101 through 7-19-109 in Title 7: Criminal Procedures.)
 
CNCS FBI Channeler:  Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
More information: 
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/ 
 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

State Sex Offender Registry Information

 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

1. Acquire fingerprint card. 
 
Option 1: To acquire your fingerprint card, contact Cynthia at the Division of Criminal Investigations at 307-777-7181. She will mail you the fingerprint card to be completed. 
 
Option 2: Set up an appointment with the Division of Criminal Investigations in Cheyenne if you live nearby or this is otherwise a convenient option for you. 
 
2. Take the fingerprint card to your local law enforcement office for printing. 
 
Option 1: If the card is mailed to you, take it to the local law enforcement office to have your fingerprints taken. Applicants desiring fingerprinting services from a local law enforcement agency should call the agency to determine what days or times they support fingerprinting services. 
 
Option 2: If you live/are in the Cheyenne area, you may go to the Division of Criminal Investigations for your scheduled appointment (see Step 1).  The Division of Criminal Investigations is located at: 208 S. College Dr,  Cheyenne, WY 82002.
 
3. Fill out waiver request form. On the back of the fingerprint card is a waiver you must sign. Indicate that the results will be sent to your employer. (Should the results be sent to you instead, bring the sealed result to your program to ensure chain of custody.)
 
4. Pay $15 criminal background check fee ($10 if volunteering with youth or victims of family violence).Payment should be submitted by money order, payable to Office of the Attorney General. Cash (exact change) is accepted on a walk-in basis only, not by mail. No personal checks or credit cards are accepted. Please allow for ample time, as requests are processed on a first come, first served basis. The address to submit payment to is: 
Office of the Attorney General 
Attn: ATS
208 S. College Dr. 
Cheyenne, WY 82002


Revised as of 2/16/2018
 

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top