Vermont

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Vermont is a closed records state.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

Department of Public Safety, Crime Information Center 
Phone: 802-244-8727
 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Name-Based State Checks

Available from: Department of Public Safety, Crime Information Center
 
What is released: If no record is found, “No record found with Vermont criminal history files.” If a record is found, only conviction information is included. By law, arrests that did not end in conviction and pending charges will be not be reported. Reports of juvenile convictions will not be reported unless the juvenile was prosecuted in adult court.
 
Cost: Free, for those who qualify for the Vulnerable Populations Program. $30.00 for non-qualifying organizations. 
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 5 -7 business days through mail; usually instantaneous through electronic system
 
Additional Information: Vermont has created the Vulnerable Populations Program for qualified entities whose primary focus is to provide care for vulnerable populations. Providing care to vulnerable populations means the provision of care, treatment, education, training, instruction, or supervision to children, the elderly, or individuals with disabilities. An organization needs to apply to become part of the program. 
The electronic system for conducting name-based checks, the Vermont Conviction Report website: https://secure.vermont.gov/DPS/criminalrecords/
 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Department of Public Safety, Crime Information Center
 
What is released: If no record is found, “No record found with Vermont criminal history files.” If a record is found, only conviction information is included. By law, arrests that did not end in conviction and pending charges will be not be reported. Reports of juvenile convictions will not be reported unless the juvenile was prosecuted in adult court. 
 
Cost: $15.25 for volunteer; $19.25 for employees PLUS up to $25.00 fee for fingerprinting; If organization qualifies under the National Child Protection Act (NCPA), the fee is $12.00 for employees and $10.75 for volunteers, plus the cost of fingerprinting, which can vary but is typically no more than $25.00. 

How long does it take to obtain results? Typically, it takes five to seven working days to process a criminal conviction search via the mail. Criminal conviction information cannot be reported over the telephone or faxed. 
 
Available to: Organizations that qualify under the National Child Protection Act: employers that provide care to children, the elderly, and individuals with disabilities. See below for more information. 

A qualified entity is defined as an individual, business, governmental agency, or organization, whether public, private, for-profit, not-for-profit, or voluntary whose employees, contractors, or volunteers provide care or care placement services for vulnerable populations. Providing care for vulnerable populations means the provision of care, treatment, education, training, instruction, supervision, or recreation to children, the elderly, or individuals with disabilities. It is important to note that the employee, volunteer, or contractor to be back grounded does not have to be a caregiver-only that the person be employed by or volunteer with a qualified entity.
 
Organizations that qualify will need to apply in writing to the VCIC to be officially recognized. The letter of qualification should be on your organization’s letterhead and should include how your business or agency meets the definition of a qualified entity. 

Additional notes: A record check release form and fingerprint authorization certificate (FAC) must be filled out for every nationwide criminal record check. Individuals can obtain the FAC form from their grantee organization. 
 
The State Identification Bureau is part of the tri-state Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) that includes Maine and New Hampshire. 

All incoming fingerprints are searched for positive identification and previous records in the tri-state database as well as the FBI IAFIS database. 
 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
None at this time. 
 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: Yes
 
CNCS FBI Channeler:  Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
More information: 
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/ 
 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

 

State Sex Offender Registry Information

Vermont Sex Offender Registry: http://vcic.vermont.gov/sor 
 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

1. Visit https://secure.vermont.gov/DPS/criminalrecords/, read the instructions, then click the blue “start” button at the bottom of the page. 
2. Enter the name, address, and email of the applicant requesting the information, agree to the terms, and click “Continue.” You will then enter your personal information and payment information. 
3. There is a $30.00 charge per conviction report, payable by credit or debit card through the website.
4. The results are immediate, and sent to the specified email address where they can be printed or saved. 
5. Bring sealed result to program to ensure chain of custody.  


Revised as of 2/24/2017
 

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top