Virginia

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Virginia is an open records state.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

Virginia State Police, Bureau of Administration and Support Service http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_Criminal_Record_Check.shtm
Phone: 804-674-2131
 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Name-Based Checks

Available from: Virginia State Police, Bureau of Administration and Support Service
 
What is released: If no criminal record is found, the result letter will indicate that. If a criminal record is found, conviction information will be included.
 
Cost
Form SP-167: Criminal History Record Name Search. This must be used by all out-of-state agencies: $8.00 for volunteers with nonprofit organizations; $16.00 for a combined Criminal History and Sex Offender Search
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 12 – 14 days, not including mail time; when accessed electronically through the Non-Criminal Justice Interface (NCJI) of the Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE), the results are typically returned within 72 hours or less. See below in the Additional notes section for more information on the Non-Criminal Justice Interface (NCJI). 
 
Available to: Non-criminal justice agencies that are authorized by statute to receive the results. More information can be found here: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_Criminal_Record_Check.shtm. Non-criminal justice agencies that are not authorized by state statute may request a name-based state check in Virginia through the Non-Criminal Justice Interface (NCJI). See below for more information on the process. 
 
Additional notes: 
The Non-Criminal Justice Interface (NCJI) system provides for the searching of Virginia criminal history records using name and other descriptive information from remote PCs. 
This system is used by non-criminal justice agencies authorized by statute and private sector employers that sign an agreement with the Department of State Police.
To participate in NCJI, an agency must sign an agreement with the Department of State Police, have access to the Internet, and establish a billing account with the Department. NCJI inquiries are made through a World Wide Web (WWW) page on the Internet.
NCJI can also be used to request a name search of Virginia’s Sex Offender Registry record information, both violent and non-violent offenders, for user agencies that are allowed to access this information by statute. Information on violent sex offenders is available on the Internet to the public at no charge through State Police’s Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry (Public Notification Database). 
For further information pertaining to NCJI write to: Department of State Police, Criminal Justice Information Services Division, P. O. Box 27472, Richmond, Virginia 23261-7472.
 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Virginia State Police, Bureau of Administration and Support Service
 
What is released: If no criminal record is found, the result letter will indicate that. If a criminal record is found, conviction 
information will be included. 
 
Cost: $26.00 for volunteers; $13.00 for state search only for non-volunteers, plus $10.00 fingerprinting fee for non-criminal purposes (Additional charge of $5.00 for each additional set of prints); total of $37.00 for state plus FBI fingerprint check ($13.00 for state fingerprint check + $24.00 for FBI check)
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 7 – 21 business days, not including mail time
 
Available to: Non-criminal justice agencies that are authorized by statute to receive the results. More information can be found here: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_Criminal_Record_Check.shtm

 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
None at this time. 

 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: No
 
CNCS FBI Channeler:  Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
More information
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/ 
 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

 

State Sex Offender Registry Information

Virginia Sex Offender Registry: http://sex-offender.vsp.virginia.gov/sor/ 
 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

1. Utilize the online SP-167 Form to submit a “Criminal Record Name Search.” Requests for criminal record searches must be executed by the submission of a signed and notarized “Criminal Record Name Search” form SP-167. The instructions for the completion of this form are included with the document along with notarization directions. This form can be viewed, downloaded and/or printed by visiting here
2. The applicant must fill out the personal information page, and submit the form via mail. Generate the information, print, and mail only one copy of the Form to the Virginia State Police. 
Virginia State Police 
Central Criminal Records Exchange – NF 
P.O. Box 85076 
Richmond, VA 23267-5076 
3. Please allow 12-14 business days for processing. This form can be viewed, downloaded, and/or printed by visiting the Virginia State Police Forms page
4. Bring sealed result to program to ensure chain of custody. 


Revised as of 2/16/2018

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top