Utah

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Utah is a closed records state.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

Utah Department of Public Safety 
Phone: 801-965-4445
 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Name-Based State Checks

Available from: Utah Department of Public Safety
 
What is released: “No record found” or if there are results found, a statewide Utah criminal history, including convictions and warrants. 
 
Cost: $10.00
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 7 -10 days
 
Available to: Entities that qualify under Utah law 53-10-108 are allowed to request criminal history information on individuals. More information on the law, including which entities qualify, can be found here: https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter10/C53-10-S108_2015051220150701.pdf
 
Alternatively, organizations that don’t qualify under the law, can have members request a check on themselves and then share the results with the grantee organization.
 
Additional notes
The checks consists of a search in the following databases: Utah Criminal History, Utah Statewide Warrant and Protective Order, and Federal Want and Warrant Files. 
The check offers rapback service, which alerts the requester of any new criminal history records even after the initial check is performed. 
You may opt in to rapback service on the check request form. 
 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Utah Department of Public Safety
 
What is released: “No record found” or if there are results found, a nationwide criminal history, including convictions and warrants.
 
Cost: $15.00 (there is an additional nominal fee charged in association with taking the fingerprints)
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 6 weeks
 
Available to: Entities that qualify under Utah law 53-10-108 are allowed to request criminal history information on individuals. More information on the law, including which entities qualify, can be found here: https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter10/C53-10-S108_2015051220150701.pdf. For more information and the application form for qualifying entities, visit this website: http://bci.utah.gov/obtaining-utah-criminal-history-records-of-your-employees/employment-background-check-forms/ 
Organizations may also qualify under Public law 105-251 (the Volunteers for Children Act which amended the National Child Protection Act of 1993) which was enacted October 9, 1998. It allows qualified entities who care for children and vulnerable adults to request fingerprint-based national criminal history record checks of their volunteers and employees. More information on the public law can be found here: https://www.congress.gov/105/plaws/publ251/PLAW-105publ251.pdf
 
Additional notes
Fingerprint cost is $15.00 for three sets. 
Only four fingerprints on the right hand are required, not a full set of 10. 
Local police departments, motor vehicle offices, or private vendors offer fingerprinting services.
The fingerprint-based check consists of a Western Identification Network (WIN) check, Utah Criminal History, Statewide warrant and protective order, and federal Want and Warrant Files. 
WIN is a database that includes criminal history conviction information from Utah, Nevada, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Washington, and Alaska. 
The check offers rapback service, which alerts the requester of any new criminal history records even after the initial check is performed.
You may opt in to rapback service on the check request form. 
 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
A fingerprint-based check by the Montana Department of Justice (https://dojmt.gov/enforcement/background-checks/), the Oregon Department of Human Services (http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/BUSINESS-SERVICES/CHC/Pages/index.aspx), or the Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation (http://wyomingdci.wyo.gov/home).
A fingerprint-based check by the Washington State Patrol (http://www.wsp.wa.gov/crime/criminal-history/) will indicate only if there is a record of the individual in the Utah repository. If you receive this notification, you must conduct a full Utah state check using the designated repository (Utah Department of Public Safety; http://bci.utah.gov/).
 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: No
 
CNCS FBI Channeler:  Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
More information
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/
 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

 

State Sex Offender Registry Information

 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

Option 1: In Person:  
1. Go to the Bureau of Criminal Identification office (see below) and obtain a copy of your own Utah criminal history. 
2. Location and Contact Information: 
Bureau of Criminal Identification 
3888 West 5400 South 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84129 
Phone: 801-965-4445 Fax: 801-965-4749
8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday, excluding weekends and state holidays 
3. Bring the following:  A valid form of government issued picture ID must accompany the request. Utah Driving Privilege Cards will NOT be accepted as valid ID. 
4. Pay the $15 criminal background check fee; payable in cash, personal check, VISA or MasterCard, money order, or cashier's check. 
5. Bring sealed results to your program to ensure chain of custody. 
 
Option 2: Through the Mail
1. Download and fill out the Criminal History Record Application
2. Fill out the Third Party Release Form. You must fill out the Third Party Release Form, indicating that your organization is the agency you wish to share this document with. 
3. Obtain payment ($15, money order, cashiers’ check, personal check). Mail the completed application form and fee to the following address (located on the application form): 
UTAH BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION 
3888 West 5400 South
Taylorsville, Utah 84129


Revised as of 2/16/2018

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top