Nevada

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Nevada is an open records state. 
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

Nevada Department of Public Safety 
Phone: (775) 684-6262
 

State Checks 


General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Name-Based State Checks

Available from: Nevada Department of Public Safety
 
Available to: The Nevada statutes limit who may request this name-based check. The program is available to only those users that will directly employ the person about whom they are performing the Civil Name Check and to third party agencies that provide background services to the employer. See the page here for more information: http://rccd.nv.gov/Services/Civil_Name_Check/
 
What is released: A “State Negative Record Response” is a letter indicating that no State of Nevada record was found for the individual. A “State Positive Record Response” is a letter indicating that State of Nevada record was located for the individual, along with the complete content of that record. Records released include misdemeanor offenses, gross misdemeanors, and felony offenses. 
 
Cost: $20.00 per individual (money orders or certified checks accepted) through the Civil Name Check (CNC) system
 
How long does it take to obtain results? Allow approximately 45 days for processing, upon receipt of request by the Repository. 
 
Additional Notes: The repository cannot provide information for other states, only Nevada.

The release of information will be accompanied by a disclaimer concerning the reliability of the information released, pursuant to state policy.
 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Nevada Department of Public Safety
 
Available to: The Nevada statutes state that only employers may request criminal history records for prospective volunteers. Organizations requesting checks must also obtain the signed consent of the individual. Individuals should give their signed consent on the form at this address: http://rccd.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/gsdnvgov/content/Home/Features/DPS_006_Form112015.pdf (see page 3).
 
What is released: A “State Negative Record Response” is a letter indicating that no State of Nevada record was found for the individual. A “State Positive Record Response” is a letter indicating that State of Nevada record was located for the individual, along with the complete content of that record. Records released include misdemeanor offenses, gross misdemeanors, and felony offenses.
 
Cost: $29.50 per individual (for volunteers); $36.25 per individual for non-volunteers (cost is the same for livescan/electronic fingerprints and hard copy prints) [money orders or certified checks accepted]
 
How long does it take to obtain results? Allow approximately 45 days for processing, upon receipt of request by the Repository.
 
Additional notes: The repository cannot provide information for other states, only Nevada. 
 
Note: Nevada does not report Tier 1 offenders or those offenders who do not require a tier level to the NSOPW but, rather, only to law enforcement. Tier 1 offenders are those who are deemed 'low risk' to the community based on a score using 20 different criteria. Offenders who do not require a tier level are those who have been convicted of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor, generally indecent exposure. 
 
The Nevada State repository will generate one of three possible reports: 1) the offender whose name was input, 2) no offender found, and 3) no information available to the public. If the report generates 3) no information available to the public this indicates that the person is a designated Tier 1 level offender or an offender who did not require a tier level designation as outlined above. More information on Nevada state statutes pertaining to records of criminal history can be found here: http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-179A.html
 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
Programs may also use a fingerprint-based check from the Montana Department of Justice (https://dojmt.gov/enforcement/background-checks/), the Oregon Department of Human Services (http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/BUSINESS-SERVICES/CHC/Pages/index.aspx), or the Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation (http://wyomingdci.wyo.gov/home). 
Note that a fingerprint-based check by the Washington State Patrol (http://www.wsp.wa.gov/crime/criminal-history/) will indicate only if there is a record of the individual in the Nevada repository. If you receive this notification, you must conduct a full Nevada state check using the designated Nevada repository, the Nevada Department of Public Safety. 
 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: No. The repository cannot provide information to or from the FBI. 
 
CNCS FBI Channeler:  Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
More information
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/ 
 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

 

State Sex Offender Registry Information

Nevada Sex Offender Registry: http://www.nvsexoffenders.gov/ 
 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

1. Complete the Identification File Request for Nevada Records of Criminal History Form, DPS-006 (PID). Please note, if for a couple, family, etc., all persons must each complete the DPS-006 form in its entirety. In addition, you must include the complete mailing address where the response is to be sent. 
2. Obtaining proof of identity, which consists of 1 fingerprint card (only an original card will be accepted, please do not submit copies or previously processed cards), with your name, date of birth (DOB) and place of birth (POB).
3. Fingerprints should be placed on a standard fingerprint card (FD-258), commonly used for applicant or law enforcement purposes. Please note that the fingerprint card must contain all ten fingerprints taken simultaneously (these are sometimes referred to as plain or flat impressions) and your signature must be on the card. Please have your fingerprints taken by a certified fingerprinting technician. 
4. Please include $29.50 (for volunteers) or $36.25 (for non-volunteers) in the form of a money order or certified check made out to the Department of Public Safety.  Please be sure to sign where required. No personal checks or cash will be accepted  Must be for the exact amount. If for a couple, family, etc., please include $29.50 (volunteers) or $36.25 (non-volunteers) for each applicant. 
5. Please staple all of the items indicated in #1, #2 and #3 (listed above) together and mail to the following address: 
 
Department of Public Safety 
General Services Division 
Attn: Fingerprint Support Unit 
333 West Nye Lane, Suite 100 
Carson City, Nevada 89706 
 
Please Note: If any of the above items are missing or incomplete, the request will be returned. Please allow approximately 45 days for processing, upon receipt by the Repository.  What you will receive when the process is complete: 
 
* State Negative Record Response – a letter indicating that no State of Nevada Record was found. 
–OR-
* State Positive Record Response – a letter indicating that a State of Nevada Record was located, along with the complete content of that record.
 
6. Bring sealed result to program to ensure chain of custody.  


Revised as of 2/16/18

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top