New Hampshire

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

New Hampshire is an open records state and functions as part of a tri-state system, along with Maine and Vermont. 
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

New Hampshire State Police, Support Services Bureau http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/ssb/crimrecords/index.html
Phone: (603) 223-3867
 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Name-Based State Checks

Available from: New Hampshire State Police, Support Services Bureau
 
What is released: For non-criminal justice purposes, such as employment, housing, licensing, etc., only conviction Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) is provided for New Hampshire, Maine, and Vermont.
 
Cost: $10.00 
(Regular cost is $25.00, but checks on volunteers serving with organizations that meet these three criteria qualify for a reduced cost of $10.00: 1) Be a public or private not-for profit entity; 2) The person undergoing the check must be a volunteer; 3) The services must be provided for elderly, disabled, or children. All qualifying criteria must be met in order to grant the requesting entity reduced fee status for each volunteer.)
 
How long does it take to obtain results? Typically three weeks 
 
Additional information: The New Hampshire State Police required form must be notarized. 
 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: New Hampshire State Police, Support Services Bureau
 
What is released: For non-criminal justice purposes, such as employment, housing, licensing, etc., only conviction CHRI is provided.
 
Cost: $10.00 
(Regular cost is $25.00, but checks on volunteers with organizations that meet these three criteria qualify for a reduced cost of $10.00: 1) Be a public or private not-for profit entity; 2) Person must be a volunteer; 3) The services must be provided by elderly, disabled, or children. All qualifying criteria must be met in order to grant the requesting entity reduced fee status for each volunteer.)
 
How long does it take to obtain results? Typically three weeks
 
Available to: Grantees that must conduct the check to comply with the Serve America Act.
 
Additional notes: It is recommended that you schedule an appointment for fingerprints; a walk-in may be delayed up to an hour or more until a time slot is available. 24 hour notice is requested for all cancellations of fingerprint appointments. 
You can find more information about Livescan site locations at this address: http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/ssb/crimrecords/index.html 
 

 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
None at this time. 

 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: Yes 
 
Available to: Grantees that must conduct the check to comply with the Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act. 
 
Cost: Combined fees for an FBI and New Hampshire state record check are $33.50 for volunteers, regardless of whether fingerprints are inked or electronic. The $33.50 fee is available to organizations provided that they meet the criteria under the “Cost” sections for Name-Based Checks and Fingerprint-Based Checks above. (The standard fee, for organizations that do not meet these criteria, is $49.75.)
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 5-7 business days when submitted electronically 
 
Additional notes: Whether the applicant fingerprints are captured by ink or Livescan, it is imperative that the correct New Hampshire statutory cite (RSA) is noted that authorizes access to the FBI record database for that applicant.
 
CNCS FBI Channeler:  Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
More information
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/
 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

 

State Sex Offender Registry Information

New Hampshire Sex Offender Registry: http://business.nh.gov/nsor/ 
 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

Option One: in person 
1. Download the Criminal Record Release Authorization Form, and fill out Section 1. 
2. Bring in form, with picture I.D., to the Department of Safety Building: 
Central Repository for Criminal Records 
33 Hazen Drive, Room 106 
Concord, NH 03305 
Hours of operation are Monday – Friday 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. There is a $25.00 fee, payable by check or money order. 
3. Bring sealed results to program to ensure chain of custody. 
 
Option Two: by mail – requires notarization
1. Download the Criminal Record Release Authorization Form, and fill out Section 1 and II. 
2. To send the results directly to your program, you will need to have the form signed by the program. 
3. If you have the results mailed to yourself, make sure you bring the sealed results to the program to ensure chain of custody. 
4. The form must be notarized, which can be done at a variety of locations; many banks offer this service for their customers. 
5. Mail the completed, notarized form along with a check or money order for $25 payable to State of NH – Criminal Records to: 
Central Repository for Criminal Records 
33 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03305


Revised as of 2/24/2017

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top