Nebraska

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Nebraska is an open records state. However, some criminal records may be excluded from public view per state law.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

Nebraska State Patrol, Investigation Services Division
(402) 479-4971
 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Name-Based State Checks

Available from: Nebraska State Patrol, Investigation Services Division
 
What is released: You will receive either a “No Record” response or “Request is being researched” response. If you receive a “No Record” response you will be able to download and/or print the dissemination report immediately. If you receive a "Request is being researched" response, the information entered is not unique and must be reviewed by a Criminal Records Technician; therefore, it will probably take longer to receive the results. 
 
Cost: $18.00 when completed online; $15.00 for in-person and mailed requests
 
How long does it take to obtain results? If accessing online and no results are returned, usually within minutes. If accessing online and you see a “Request is being researched” response, generally within 3 business days. 
 
Additional Information: You must retrieve the check results from the online system within 14 days. Otherwise, the results expire and you will need to submit a new request and pay a new fee. 
 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Nebraska State Patrol, Investigation Services Division
 
What is released: You will receive either a “No Record” response or “Request is being researched” response. If you receive a “No Record” response you will be able to download and/or print the dissemination report immediately. If you receive a “Request is being researched” response, the information entered is not unique and must be reviewed by a Criminal Records Technician; therefore, it will probably take longer to receive the results.
 
Cost: $15.00 for the check. There is no fee for fingerprinting. 
 
How long does it take to obtain results? Up to three business days.  
 
Available to: Only organizations that receive an adjudication from an authorized entity. The Nebraska State patrol stopped offering fingerprint-based checks to organizations that do not meet this standard in March 2016. All organizations may still receive name-based checks
 
Additional notes
You must retrieve the check results from the online system within 14 days. Otherwise, the results expire and you will need to submit a new request and pay a new fee.
As a public service, each of the Troop Area Headquarters of the Nebraska State Patrol provides fingerprint service for the general public. These are located in Omaha (walk-ins only), Norfolk (call to schedule appointment), Grand Island (call to schedule appointment), North Platte (call to schedule appointment), Scottsbluff (call to schedule appointment), and Lincoln (call to schedule appointment). 
 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
None at this time. 
 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: Yes, see more information below specifically related to CNCS grantees.

Available to: The Nebraska State Patrol will send fingerprints to the FBI for CNCS grantees based on state statute PL 111-13.  For more information on obtaining FBI check results through the state repository, please view the chart at this address (CNCS grantees are listed fifth from the bottom): https://statepatrol.nebraska.gov/vnews/display.v/ART/5679c7bb56c32.
 
CNCS FBI Channeler:  Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
More information
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/ 

 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

State Sex Offender Registry Information

Nebraska Sex Offender Registry: https://sor.nebraska.gov/ 
 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

There are three ways in which to request a report:
Option 1: Online ($18) 
1. For $18 and with a credit card, you may submit a request online at http://www.ne.gov/go/crime_report
2. You will need: first name, last name, date of birth, social security number of the individual
3. Bring sealed result to program to ensure chain of custody. 
 
Option 2: In person ($15)
1. Download and complete the criminal history request form here
2. You may come in person with the form and payment  (a $15.00 cashier’s check, personal money order or cash) to the following address:
Nebraska State Patrol
Criminal Identification Division
3800 NW 12th Street – Suite A
Lincoln, NE 68521
3.    Bring sealed result to program to ensure chain of custody.  
 
Option 3: Mail ($15)
You may mail your request along with a $15.00 cashier’s check, personal check, or money order to the following address: 
 
Nebraska State Patrol
Criminal Identification Division
PO Box 94907
Lincoln, NE 685059
 
Include the return address or fax number for where you would like the response to be sent (e.g. your program). If results are sent to you, bring sealed result to program to ensure chain of custody. 


Revised as of 2/24/2017
 

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top