Missouri

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Missouri is an open records state.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

Missouri State Highway Patrol, Criminal Records and Identification Division http://www.mshp.dps.mo.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/CRID/crimRecChk.html
Phone: (573) 751-3313
 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Name-Based State Checks

Available from: Missouri State Highway Patrol, Criminal Records and Identification Division
 
What is released: The background check results are considered a "possible match" and will include only open records. Open record information includes (1) records containing convictions, such as plead guilty to, or convicted of, (2) arrest information that is less than 30 days old from the date of arrest, (3) prosecutor filed charges awaiting final disposition from the court, and (4) records that contain a suspended imposition of sentence (SIS) during the probation period.
 
Cost: $13 per check through mail. For a name-based search through the MACHS Portal, the cost is $12 plus a small convenience fee.
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 
Via the online Portal: The name-based search through the Missouri Automated Criminal History System (MACHS) returns response within two business days, generally. In certain cases, responses may take longer depending on the amount of research needed to complete the request. 
By Mail: Processing time for a name-based search through the mail is approximately 4-6 weeks.
 
Additional notes: The Missouri State Highway Patrol, Criminal Records and Identification Division’s website is divided into two portals: the name search portal and the fingerprint search portal. You are also able to submit a name-based single search at the public window located at the Missouri State Highway Patrol, 1510 East Elm Street, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm (Monday – Friday; closed on state and federal holidays). You will need the name, date of birth, and social security number to make this name-based request in person. Requests for a name-based (or personal identifier) search that are made by mail require the completion of a “Request for Criminal Record Check Form”, SHP-158. You can obtain this from through the mail or via this link: http://www.mshp.dps.mo.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/CRID/documents/SHP-158new.pdf

 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Missouri State Highway Patrol, Criminal Records and Identification Division
 
What is released: The results of a fingerprint-based background check are considered a "positive match" and will provide closed or complete records for the requesting individual or qualified requesting entity. Closed record information includes (1) all criminal history data, including all arrests (filed or not filed charges), (2) charges that have been nolle prossed, dismissed, or found not guilty in a court of law, and (3) will include any SIS after the probation period is complete.
 
Cost: $20.00
 
How long does it take: Generally 7 to 10 business days with results mailed
 
Available to: Any member of the public may schedule an appointment to be fingerprinted. 

 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
The Missouri Family Care Safety Registry (FCSR) operated by the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (http://health.mo.gov/safety/fcsr/) is an acceptable alternate source when the following condition has been met by the program using the FCSR: The program must ensure that individual being checked has been registered into the FCSR and received his/her notice from the FCSR that registration has been accepted.
The cost is $13.00
 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: Yes, see below for qualifying criteria. 

Available to: The Missouri State Highway Patrol, CJIS Division, developed the Missouri VECHS program to enable non-governmental entities that meet specific qualifying criteria to obtain Missouri and federal (FBI) criminal history record information with the submission of fingerprints on current and prospective applicants. In order to participate in the Missouri VECHS program, your program must provide some type of care or care placement services for children, the elderly, or persons with disabilities. (Care is defined as treatment, education, training, instruction, supervision, or recreation.) For more information, visit https://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/CRID/MoVECHSProgram.html.
 
Cost: FBI check processed through the mail: $12 for applicant and $10.75 for volunteers. 
FBI check processed via the MACHS online portal system: $14.75 ($13.50 for volunteers).
 
CNCS FBI Channeler: Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks.
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
View these links for more information
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/ 
 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

State Sex Offender Registry Information

 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

1. Go to the Missouri Automated Criminal History website. 
2. Select the “Name Search” portal link. 
3. Click the blue box on the right hand side of the page, “New to this Site?” 
4. Click “Yes-Continue” to agree to terms. 
5. Fill out your personal information; if you are an organization, click the business account at the top of the page. This will set up an account for the applicant or the organization for future searches. 
6. On the next page, please fill out your individual or the applicant’s personal information again. Select the volunteer option, and add to the shopping cart. To pay the $10.00 fee, press the “View Shopping Cart” link, which will lead to the payment page. You must pay by credit card. 
7. You will receive the results instantly, unless the applicant has a criminal background, which could take up to ten business days. 
8. Bring sealed results to program to ensure chain of custody. 


Revised as of 10/24/2017
 

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top