Idaho

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Idaho is an open records state.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification
http://isp.idaho.gov/BCI/
Phone number: 208-884-7130
 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Name-Based State Checks

Available from: Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification 
 
What is released: The criminal history contains information based on arrest data reported to BCI from Idaho criminal justice agencies.
 
Cost: The required fee for a name based check is $20.00. Payment by cash check or credit/debit card only. There is an additional processing fee of $1.00 plus 3% of the total transaction for all payments made by credit or debit card.
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 15 days
 
Additional Notes: To request this check, submit a completed Name Based Criminal Background Check Form and required fee. Be aware it is not uncommon for criminal offenders to use alias names and false dates of birth, which would adversely affect the completeness and accuracy of a non-fingerprint based search of the Idaho Criminal History Repository. Idaho law does not require a waiver. However, without a waiver, any arrest more than 12 months old, without a disposition, cannot be given to a non-criminal justice agency. The signature date on waivers must be within 180 days of the name check submission.

 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification 
 
What is released: The criminal history contains information based arrest data reported to BCI from Idaho criminal justice agencies. 
 
Cost: The required fee for a fingerprint check is $25.00. Payment by cash check or credit/debit card only. There is an additional processing fee of $1.00 plus 3% of the total transaction for all payments made by credit or debit card.
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 15 days
 
Available to: Individuals and organizations 
 
Additional information: To request this check, submit a complete set of inked and rolled fingerprints on an applicant fingerprint card, the Fingerprint Criminal Background Check Form (Changes to form) including a Payment Authorization Form, and required payment. Fingerprint cards must include: Subject of record's name (print), alias names (including maiden and previous married names), current address, citizenship, descriptive data, date of birth, place of birth, reason for being fingerprinted, and signature of person being fingerprinted. The official taking the fingerprints must date and sign the fingerprint card. The date must be within 180 days of the fingerprint check submission.
 
Instructions to Obtain Criminal History Record Information via NCPA
Submit a completed applicant fingerprint card supplied by the BCI. The fingerprint card must include the following items: signature, printed name, alias names (including maiden and previous married names), assigned code/number, current address, citizenship, descriptive data, date of birth, place of birth, and the required reason for being fingerprinted. The social security number is requested but not required. The official/person taking the fingerprints must sign and date the card. The date must be within 180 days of the fingerprint check submission. 
 
Fingerprinting Services
Please see above for information on fingerprinting services. The fingerprint card will be given to the applicant to submit to the requesting entity. The requesting entity is responsible for submitting the fingerprint(s) to our Bureau for processing. 
 
Ensure that each employee completes and signs copy of the Waiver Agreement and Statement form. This form can be downloaded from our website, or the BCI will mail a copy of the Waiver and Statement form to the qualified entity. Each subject of a background check must sign this form. The signed Waiver Agreement and Statement allows the release of the state and national criminal history information to the qualified entity. 
 
IMPORTANT: The original Waiver Agreement and Statement form must be retained by the Qualified Entity for as long as the employee or volunteer is working for the Qualified Entity, or for five years, whichever is longer. The Qualified Entity will be subject to audits by ISP, and could be chosen for a triennial FBI audit. 
3. Submit a $37.00 check or money order from the organization for each employee, OR a $35.75 check or money order for each volunteer. For other payment methods, please call 208-884-7141. Qualified entities will be billed for processed transactions on a monthly basis. If you have billing questions, please call (208) 884-7141
 
After Submission of the Card, Form and Fee, the BCI will provide the following: 
1. Notification that the individual as described on the fingerprint card does not have a criminal history record; or 
2. A copy of the individual’s criminal history record. 
Upon receipt of a background check report lacking disposition data, the requesting entity may conduct research in whatever State and local record keeping systems are available in order to obtain complete data. The following link contains County District Court Contacts: 
Idaho Supreme Court Data Repository 
County Contact Information 
 
Timetable for Results of Criminal History Record Checks 
The National Child Protection Act requires the BCI and the FBI to make a reasonable effort to return criminal history information to authorized entities within 15 business days. This does not include mail time. The BCI endeavors to process Idaho and FBI criminal history checks within 5-7 business days of receipt, excluding holidays and mail time, as long as the request is appropriate. The request may be hand delivered or mailed to the BCI. Please keep in mind, the BCI does not telephone, email or fax results. Delays in the process will occur if fingerprint card(s) received do not have all the required data, payment, or are rejected by the FBI because of poor image quality. The BCI will return the fingerprint card(s) to the requesting authorized entity along with a form explaining the reason for the rejection. 
 
Rejected Fingerprint Cards
If the first fingerprint card submission is rejected because of poor image quality, fingers out of sequence or missing notations on amputations, etc., the BCI will mail the fingerprint card, along with a rejection form, back to the requesting entity. The entity will need to send in a new set of fingerprints, along with the attached rejected fingerprint card and The BCI Civil Applicant Response form. There is no charge for the reprint. If the reprint rejects, the submission of a third fingerprint card will be treated like a first time submission, and the fee will apply. BCI will automatically process a FBI name-based check after a second time rejection and mail the results to the requesting entity. The requesting entity will need to make the determination whether to accept the FBI name check results in lieu of a third fingerprint submission.
 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
Programs may also use a fingerprint-based check from the Montana Department of Justice (https://dojmt.gov/enforcement/background-checks/), the Oregon Department of Human Services (http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/BUSINESS-SERVICES/CHC/Pages/index.aspx), or the Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation (http://wyomingdci.wyo.gov/home).  
Note that a fingerprint-based check by the Washington State Patrol (http://www.wsp.wa.gov/crime/criminal-history/) will indicate only if there is a record of the individual checked in the Idaho repository. If you receive this notification, you must conduct a full Idaho state check using the designated repository. 
 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: Yes. When the Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification initiates a WIN (Western Identification Network) check (which includes the Idaho State Repository), the request is also submitted to the FBI for an FBI check. 
 
CNCS FBI Channeler: Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50.
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
View these links for more information
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/ 
 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

 

State Sex Offender Registry Information

Idaho Sex Offender Registry:

 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

The Idaho State Police (ISP), Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI), has established a program pursuant to the National Child Protection Act to permit qualified entities to submit fingerprint cards on employees and volunteers to receive state and federal criminal history information, in order to promote a broader exchange of criminal history information for purposes of assisting entities that provide care, treatment, education, training, instruction, supervision or recreation to children, the elderly or individuals with disabilities. The state and national criminal history record checks can help screen volunteers and employees associated with these entities and could help prevent the abuse of those served by the entities.
Once results are received from the check, bring sealed results to program to ensure chain of custody. 


Revised as of 2/16/2018
 

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top