Colorado

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Colorado is an open records state.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).

 

Contact Information

Department of Public Safety Crime Information Center Colorado Bureau of Investigations
https://www.cbirecordscheck.com/ and https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cbi/forensic-services
Phone number: 303-239-4300

 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).

Name-Based State Checks

Available from: Department of Public Safety Crime Information Center Colorado Bureau of Investigations.

What is released: Background checks in the state of Colorado are regulated by state statutes. If organizations are not statutorily regulated, they will receive a Colorado statewide arrest record with the following information:

The computerized criminal history (CCH) database contains detailed information of arrest records based upon fingerprints provided by Colorado law enforcement agencies. Arrests which are not supported by fingerprints will not be included in this database. Additionally, warrant information, sealed records, and juvenile records are not available to the public (excluding traffic arrests from the age of 16). To locate information regarding registered sex offenders, you must contact your local law enforcement agency.

Cost: $6.85 for individuals and programs.

How long does it take to obtain results? 24 hours.

Additional Information: Use the Colorado Bureau of Investigation website and agree to the terms and conditions. Enter exact spelling of person’s name and correct date of birth. Use of Social Security number is highly recommended for this search. Pay for each search reviewed. If more than one search appears, document how you determine that matches are not your candidate.  

Individuals: Use the Colorado Bureau of Investigation website and agree to the terms and conditions. Fill out your personal information, billing information, and credit card information and press continue. Pay the $6.85 fee for the criminal background check. You must use a credit card. 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Colorado Bureau of Investigation

What is released: Background checks in the state of Colorado are regulated by state statutes. If these organizations are not statutorily regulated, they will receive a Colorado statewide arrest record with the following information:

The computerized criminal history (CCH) database contains detailed information of arrest records based upon fingerprints provided by Colorado law enforcement agencies. Arrests which are not supported by fingerprints will not be included in this database. Additionally, warrant information, sealed records, and juvenile records are not available to the public (excluding traffic arrests from the age of 16). To locate information regarding registered sex offenders, you must contact your local law enforcement agency.

Cost: $16.50

How long does it take to obtain results? Can take up to 3 days

Available to: Whoever is seeking the results

Additional notes: Fingerprint-based checks will be searched through the Colorado Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) and any record matching by fingerprints is provided, regardless of the name used at the time of arrest.



Approved Alternative Respositories
 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
A combined check of the (1) Colorado Judicial Branch (CJB) records and (2) Denver County Court records may be used. CNCS has labeled this combined alternate search a “Colorado Combined Court Records Check (CCCRC).” CJB records are searched through accounts at http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/Program.cfm?Program=11 and Denver County Court records are searched at https://www.denvercountycourt.org/. Both search results must be retained as evidence of performing a CCCRC check.
 

FBI Checks 

FBI Check Guidance: http://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance

State Repository Provides FBI Checks: Yes

CBI - VECHS - Volunteer and Employee Criminal History Service Program:

The rules and regulations shall apply to any public or private, for-profit, not-for-profit or volunteer organization that provides care or care placement services to any child, elderly person or person with disabilities for whom the organization provides care.

The following additional definition shall apply: National Criminal History Background Check means the criminal history record system maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation based on fingerprint identification.

Fee: $39.50 or $33.50 for Colorado and Nationwide fingerprint based Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) searches. Type information or print legibly in BLACK ink.

All fingerprint CHRI search cards must be filled out completely with the following information in the corresponding fields:
Name, Date of Birth, Place of Birth, Sex, Race, Height, Weight, Eyes, Hair (Please use 3 letters abbreviations for eyes and hair - Ex: Brown = Bro, Blue = Blu)
CTZ - Fee (Amount listed at the top of the page) must be paid by Money Order or other Certified Funds Check. (Make check payable to Colorado Bureau of Investigation.)
Personal checks are not accepted.
OCA - CONCJ**** (Use the account number assigned to you by CBI. If you do not have a CBI account, please see the NEW ACCOUNT section of this site.
Employer and Address - Name of facility requesting the CHRI search including the complete mailing address. ***See Additional Information.
Fee is $39.50 reason fingerprinted is “NCPA/VCA VECHS EMPLOYEE”
Fee is $33.50 reason fingerprinted is “NCPA/VCA VECHS VOLUNTEER”

CNCS FBI Channeler: Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 

Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 

How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.

View these links for more information:
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/ 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

nsopw.gov

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

State Sex Offender Registry Information

Colorado Sex Offender Registry: https://www.colorado.gov/apps/cdps/sor/

 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

Fingerprint-based checks will be searched through the Colorado Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) and any record matching by fingerprints is provided, regardless of the name used at the time of arrest.

Individuals: Use the Colorado Bureau of Investigation website and agree to the terms and conditions. Fill out your personal information, billing information, and credit card information and press continue. Pay the $6.85 fee for the criminal background check. You must use a credit card. Press submit. You will receive a payment confirmation email with the results within 24 hours of submission. Bring sealed results to program to ensure chain of custody. 


Revised as of 2/24/2017
 

 

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top