Arizona

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.

Arizona is a closed records state.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).

 

Contact Information

Arizona Department of Public Safety 

http://www.azdps.gov/ 

Phone number: 602-223-2223

State Checks

General Information on State Checks: 

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).


Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Arizona Department of Public Safety

What is released: This is a state and federal background check. Misdemeanors or felonies in Arizona or any other state are reported. If there is a report it doesn’t necessarily mean you won’t get a clearance card, it might just take longer than normal.

Cost: Currently $65 for volunteers

How long does it take to obtain results? The average processing time can vary from week to week based on the number of applications received and whether or not the applicant has a criminal record requiring research. If research is not required, processing will take approximately two to four weeks for an electronic application and four to six weeks for a paper application.  Processing can take up to 90 days for applications which require research.

Available to: Individuals and qualifying nonprofits 

 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
Approved for organizations outside of Arizona conducting Arizona State of residence checks ONLY: A combined check of the (1) Arizona Judiciary Public Access to Court Case (PACC) system and (2) the Pima County Superior Court Record Search (PCSCRS). The PACC system is available at https://apps.supremecourt.az.gov/publicaccess/ The PCSCRS system is available at http://www.agave.cosc.pima.gov/home.asp?Include=pages/rec ord_search.htm. All results received must be adjudicated to ensure the individual referenced is not the applicant and both search results must be retained as evidence of performing this check.

 

FBI Checks 

FBI Check Guidance: http://nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance

State Repository Provides FBI Checks: Your fingerprints will be used to obtain both a state and federal criminal history records check.

ARS 41-1750(G) does not provide DPS the statutory authority to process applicant fingerprints and release Arizona State criminal history record information to private companies for employment purposes with the exception of nonprofit organizations.

CNCS FBI Channeler: Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 

Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 

How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.

View these links for more information:
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com

 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

nsopw.gov

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

 

State Sex Offender Registry Information

Arizona Sex Offender Registry: http://www.azdps.gov/Services/Sex_Offender/

This registry will only make available individuals with level 2 or level 3 risk assessment scores. This risk assessment is based on a nineteen question criteria.

 

Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

Arizona: Individuals: Free, 15 days, fingerprints required, results may not leave the state of AZ. Individuals serving outside of AZ should retain results and forward documentation to program staff to confirm that the check was initiated and that results may not be shared out of state.

Packet and instructions are available here.

Option 1: In-Person Request

1. Go in person to the Arizona Department of Public Safety. The applicant may physically go to the Arizona Department of Public Safety to conduct the fingerprint requirement and submit the state background check. The address is: 

Arizona Department of Public Safety
2320 N 20th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85009 

2. Receive the Background Check, and send to program. Under Section 41-1750 of the Arizona Revised Statutes, the subject of a criminal record may review the information contained in his/her Arizona record, but no personal information regarding the identity or address of the requester will be included in the response. The applicant will be the recipient of the background check, but should bring sealed results to program to ensure chain of custody. 

Option 2: Phone Request

1. Call Arizona’s Applicant Team. The applicant may call the Arizona Applicant Team at 602-223-2222 to request a criminal background check application. The application will then be mailed to the applicant’s home, and includes a Record Review Contact Information Sheet. 

2. Obtain fingerprints from local law enforcement office (may involve a fee). After receiving the application, applicants must go to a local law enforcement office to obtain their fingerprints. The applicant must mail the fingerprints and application to: 

AZ Dept. of Public Safety
Criminal History Records Unit
Mail Drop 1120
PO Box 18450
Phoenix, AZ 85005-8450 

3. Review the Background Check, and send to host site. Under Section 41-1750 of the Arizona Revised Statutes, the subject of a criminal record may review the information contained in his/her Arizona record, but all personal identifying information is removed when the result of the record check is sent. The applicant will be the recipient of the background check, but should bring sealed results to program to ensure chain of custody.


Revised as of 10/13/2017


Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top