Alabama

CNCS provides this state by state guide for informational purposes only and makes reasonable efforts to ensure the quality of the information. You are responsible for determining the suitability of the information and your use of the information in this guide, and for compliance with NSCHC requirements (45 CFR 2540.200 - .207). CNCS makes no express or implied warranty, no representation, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, timeliness, or completeness of any information in, or available through, this guide. The information in this guide is presented in good faith and believed to be correct. You assume the risk of relying on the information contained in this guide. Links to non-CNCS websites are provided for informational purposes only.

CNCS is not responsible for the content of non-CNCS websites. CNCS neither endorses the information, content, presentation, or accuracy nor makes any express or implied warranty regarding external websites or any commercial product or service.

If you identify information that is outdated, please notify us at CHC@cns.gov.


Alabama is a closed records state.
Some form of criminal history information is open to the public in “open records” states. In “closed records” states, access to criminal history information is not generally available to the public, but is available to authorized entities (e.g. law enforcement agencies).
 

Contact Information

The Alabama Background Check (ABC) Program, provided by Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center (ACJIC)
Phone number: 1-866-740-4762 or 334-517-2470
 

State Checks 

General Information on State Checks:

  • While two options for types of state checks are listed below, name-based and fingerprint-based, only one type of state check is required. CNCS does not recommend one of these checks over the other. Either the name-based state check or the fingerprint-based state check is acceptable.
  • Please note that to be in compliance with CNCS requirements, recipients may have to conduct checks in up to two states: the  state of service/work check on individuals in covered positions, as well as a state of residence check (i.e. if the state of residence is different from the state of service/work at the time of application).

Name-Based State Checks

Available from: Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center (ACJIC). This is the state repository that runs the Alabama Background Check program. 
 
What is released: Felony and misdemeanor arrest, charges and convictions; Alabama court records from the last seven years; and pending court cases. These records DO NOT include a search of any other state or national criminal record system.
 
Cost: ABC—$15 plus annual $95 fee (annual subscription fee). 
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 5 - 10 days

Additional notes: Organizations must qualify for and subscribe to this service. More information on qualifying organizations and how to subscribe can be found here: http://www.alea.gov/Documents/Documents/BackgroundCheckFAQs.pdf 
 

Fingerprint-Based State Checks

Available from: Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center (ACJIC)
 
What is released: Criminal arrest information
 
Cost: ($95 annual fee) There is also a per-check usage fee for each Alabama background check inquiry submitted online, regardless of the results returned. These fees are:
$14.99 per background check submitted be ABC Subscribers with less than 250 or more employees.
$11.99 per background check submitted by ABC subscribers with 250 or more employees.
$12.50 per background check submitted by ABC government subscribers or for non-profit subscriber employee and/or volunteer checks. 
 
How long does it take to obtain results? 10 - 15 days 
 
Available to: Employee/Employer  

Additional notes: Organizations must qualify for and subscribe to this service. More information on qualifying organizations and how to subscribe can be found here: http://www.alea.gov/Documents/Documents/BackgroundCheckFAQs.pdf 
 

Approved Alternative Repositories 

State repositories are institutions that house and maintain the arrest and disposition (or outcome) information for cases handled in that state. Each state has a central repository, and CNCS has designated one in each state that grantees must use. In some cases, generally when a different institution is able to provide information that is equivalent to what is provided by the state repository, CNCS may designate them as an Approved Alternative Repository.
?None at this time. 
 

FBI Checks 

 
State Repository Provides FBI Checks: Yes
 
CNCS FBI Channeler:  Organizations that cannot successfully use the state repository for FBI checks may use CNCS’s FBI-approved Channeler, Fieldprint, for FBI checks. 

Per the State Commission: If you are a Serve Alabama AmeriCorps State program/grantee, please contact the State Commission for instructions before signing up with Fieldprint. Their procedures for obtaining FBI checks are different. 
 
Cost: The cost for one FBI check through Fieldprint is $27.50. 
 
How long does it take to receive results? The majority of checks conducted electronically take no more than two business days from the date the fingerprints are captured. If an applicant does not live near a Fieldprint livescan location and fingerprints must be taken manually and mailed, it will take longer to receive the results. See the Fieldprint Guide and FAQ (linked below) for more information.
 
More information
Fieldprint Guide and FAQs: https://www.nationalservice.gov/FBIGuidance (see document, “Using Fieldprint as an FBI Channeler – A Guide for CNCS Recipients”)
Fieldprint website: http://www.fieldprintcncs.com/
 

NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) Check

A required component of the NSCHC is a nationwide check of NSOPW.gov before an individual begins work or service in a covered position. Please note that a compliant nationwide NSOPW check must include reports from all states, territories, and tribes. If any state, territory, or tribe is unavailable at the time the NSOPW check is conducted, you must either run a nationwide NSOPW check again through NSOPW.gov and ensure that all entities are reporting, or run a separate check for each entity that is not reporting through the state sex offender registry website.

Please note that a check of a single state’s sex offender registry alone is not sufficient to meet the requirements of the nationwide NSOPW check requirement. The information provided in the State Sex Offender Registry Information section is for reference purposes only in the event that a single state sex offender registry check is necessary to supplement an incomplete nationwide NSOPW check.

 

State Sex Offender Registry Information

Alabama Sex Offender Registry: https://app.alea.gov/Community/wfSexOffenderSearch.aspx

The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Sex Offender Registry updates its website based upon information provided by local law enforcement. If old addresses appear on the web, it may be that the person is non-compliant. It is the sole responsibility of the offender to provide current information to local law enforcement. An offender is placed on the website only upon conviction and release, through probation or end of sentence.

Only those offenses listed in the Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification Act § 15-20A-5 are posted to the website. If the offense was a first conviction for Indecent Exposure or Sexual Misconduct, the offender will not appear on the website. An offender adjudicated as a juvenile (unless the juvenile was assessed as High Risk) or youthful offender (unless the youthful offender was over 18 at the time of the offense) is not posted on the website. If an adult sex offender was convicted out of state, in a federal or military court, or on an Indian Reservation, the individual will not be posted to the website until completion of a due process hearing in some cases.


Individuals Requesting Criminal History Records (versus Organizations)

1. Complete and sign the “Application to Review Alabama Criminal History Record Information” form (Appendix A). The application must also be signed by two witnesses or be signed by a notary. The form, along with all Appendices (A, B, and C), is found here: http://www.alea.gov/Documents/Forms/ALEA_Form_010_3-ApplicationToReviewOrChallengeALCriminalHistoryRecord.pdf
2. Attach one (1) copy of your valid photo identification to the completed application. (see Appendix B for instructions)
3. Attach two completed FBI-Applicant Fingerprint cards of your fingerprints to the completed application. These can be taken at local Sheriff’s office or police departments. See Appendix C for instructions.
4. Attach the required $25.00 administrative fee (in the form of a Cashier’s check or money order payable to ALEA Records and Identification Unit) to the completed application. Additional copies are $5.00 each if ordered at the same time. Personal or business checks are not accepted.
5. Mail the completed application and attachments listed above to:
 
Records & Identification Division
P.O. Box 1511
Montgomery, Alabama 36102-1511
ATTN: Background Checks
 
6. Results can be expected in a minimum of 4 – 5 weeks from date of receipt by the agency.  
7. Bring sealed results to program to ensure chain of custody.  
 

CNCS State Commission

Please note that the State Commission section is specific to State Commission subgrantees (e.g. AmeriCorps State program grantees). The State Commission may not necessarily be able to assist other CNCS grantees (e.g. Foster Grandparents, Senior Companions, SIF) in this state with access to State or FBI checks.
Serve Alabama, the Alabama State Service Commission is an approved authorized recipient and provides FBI checks to sub-grantees. 

Per the State Commission: If you are a Serve Alabama AmeriCorps State program/grantee, please contact the State Commission for their instructions before conducting criminal history checks. 


Revised as of 3/22/2017
 

Enter Keywords to Find Resources:

 

 


Find us on Facebook


 

Have Feedback or Questions?

Email Us

Back to Top