Scheduled Maintenance Notice

ALERT: will be offline for site maintenance between the hours of 5:30PM EST and 8:00PM EST this Thursday (March 5) evening. During this time, our eGrants and My AmeriCorps portal sites will still be accessible.

What types of loans can the education award repay?

Most postsecondary loans that are backed by the federal government are qualified for repayment with a Segal AmeriCorps Education Award. Also, loans that are made by state agencies, including state colleges and universities are now considered "qualified". Qualified loans include, but are not limited to:

  • Federal Family Education Loans
    • Stafford Loans (both subsidized and unsubsidized)
    • Supplemental Loans to Students (SLS)
    • Federal Consolidation Loans
    • Guaranteed Student Loans (predecessor to Stafford Loans)
    • Federally Insured Student Loans (FISL)
  • William D. Ford Direct Loans
  • Direct Stafford Loans (subsidized and unsubsidized)
  • Direct Ford Loans (subsidized and unsubsidized)
  • Direct Consolidated Loans
  • National Direct Student Loans
  • National Defense Student Loans
  • Health Education Assistance Loans (HEAL)
  • Health Professions Student Loans (HPSL)
  • Loans for Disadvantaged Students (LDS)
  • Nursing Student Loans (NSL)
  • Primary Care Loans (PCL)
  • Federal Perkins Loans
  • Public Health Service Act Loans
  • Loans issued to AmeriCorps members by state agencies, including state institutions of higher education
Back to Top